Be an Askhole: Curiosity is King

Marvin Liao
1 min readNov 22, 2023

--

For someone who prides himself on being intelligent, I tend to be dumb and talk too much. I think I’m smart and interesting but that’s probably my arrogance and ego talking.

They say you have two ears and one mouth. Use them in the same ratio. I try to remember and remind myself of this all the time.

Ideas happen when you keep your door open. Talking too much is keeping your door closed.

Yes, of course, do travel, read a lot and explore new ideas. But the way to fine tune these ideas is just to talk to everyone and anyone. Some of my best conversations were not intentional and very accidental. And they help you sharpen your thoughts as you get reactions and feedback to what you say. In fact writing online and Twitter are great ways to do this. If someone disagrees you hear very quickly.

So a good rule in life: Shut your mouth and ask good questions. This is how you learn & properly fulfill your curiosity. And as Dale Carnegie once said: “If you want to be interesting, be interested”

--

--

Marvin Liao

Ever curious: Tsundoku, Reader, Aspiring Shokunin, World traveller, Investor & Tech/Media exec interested in almost everything! www.marvinliao.com